Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Susan Cooper

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Susan Cooper

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Susan Cooper
Born: May 23, 1935
Burnham, Buckinghamshire, England, UK
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: English


Susan Cooper is best known for her acclaimed five-book fantasy sequence The Dark is Rising, which won a Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor Award, and two Carnegie Honor Awards.

Born in England in 1935, she became a reporter and feature writer for the London Sunday Times--her first boss was James Bond creator Ian Fleming--before moving to the United States in 1963. Her first novels were "Mandrake" and the autobiographical "Dawn of Fear," followed by the complete Dark is Rising sequence (Over Sea, Under Stone; The Dark is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King; Silver on the Tree). The sequence, deeply rooted in the rich heritage of Arthurian legend and Celtic mythology, is a classic work of children's literature, still in print after 40 years.

Cooper went on to write other well-received children's novels, including "Seaward," "The Boggart" and its sequel "The Boggart and the Monster," "Green Boy," "King of Shadows," and "Victory," as well as several picture books for young readers with illustrators such as Ashley Bryan and Warwick Hutton. She has also written books for adults, as well as plays and Emmy-nominated screenplays (some in collaboration with her second husband, the actor Hume Cronyn). Her latest books include the collaborative project "The Exquisite Corpse Adventure" and her biography of Jack Langstaff titled "The Magic Maker." Ms. Cooper lives in Marshfield MA. Visit her on Facebook or on her website at

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Boggart

 1. (1993)
 2. (1997)
 3. (2018)

 The Dark is Rising

 1. (1965)
 2. (1973)
 3. (1974)
 4. (1975)
 5. (1977)