Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Author: [x] L. Sprague de Camp
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

L. Sprague de Camp

A Gun for Dinosaur

Reginald Rivers

L. Sprague de Camp

This Hugo Award-nominated novelette originally appeared in Galaxy Science Fiction, March 1956. It has been reprinted many times and can be found in the anthologies:

  • The World That Couldn't Be and 8 Other Novelets from Galaxy (1959), edited by H. L. Gold
  • The Time Curve (1968), edited by Sam Moskowitz and Roger Elwood
  • 3000 Years of Fantasy and Science Fiction (1972), edited by L. Sprague de Camp and Catherine Crook de Camp
  • Dawn of Time: Prehistory Through Science Fiction (1979), edited by Robert Silverberg, Joseph Olander and Martin H. Greenberg
  • Science Fiction A to Z: A Dictionary of the Great S.F. Themes (1982), edited by Isaac Asimov, Martin H. Greenberg and Charles G. Waugh
  • Grand Masters' Choice (1989), edited by Andre Norton and Ingrid Zierhut
  • Dinosaurs! (1990), edited by Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois
  • Dinosaurs (1996), edited by Martin H. Greenberg
  • The SFWA Grand Masters, Volume 1 (1999), edited by Frederik Pohl
  • The World Turned Upside Down (2005), edited by Eric Flint, Jim Baen and David Drake
  • The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century (2004), edited by Harry Turtledove and Martin H. Greenberg

The story is included in the collections:

Read the full story for free at the Baen website.

Rivers of Time

Reginald Rivers

L. Sprague de Camp

Time travel came in time to save Reginald Rivers' livelihood: guiding big game safaris. The world from Paleocene to Pleistocene offers bigger game than any in the modern world. Anyone who could pay Rivers' considerable fee could hunt the dinosaur of his or her choice. But T Rex is a mere inconvenience compared to this group of Homo sapiens.

Table of Contents:

  • Faunas - (1968) - poem
  • A Gun for Dinosaur - (1956) - novelette
  • The Cayuse - (1993) - novelette
  • Crocamander Quest - (1992) - short story
  • Miocene Romance - novelette
  • The Synthetic Barbarian - (1992) - novelette
  • The Satanic Illusion - (1992) - novelette
  • The Big Splash - (1992) - novelette
  • The Mislaid Mastodon - (1993) - novelette
  • The Honeymoon Dragon - short story
  • Author's Afterword - essay

Can't find the L. Sprague de Camp book you're looking for? Let us know the title and we'll add it to the database.