Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Publishers

New York Review Children's Collection

New York Review Children's Collection

Founded: 2003
Founded by: The New York Review of Books
Location: 435 Hudson Street, Suite 300
New York, New York 10014
Titles/Circulation: 0


The New York Review Children's Collection began in 2003 in an attempt to reward readers who have long wished for the return of their favorite titles and to introduce those books to a new generation of readers. The line publishes picture books for preschoolers through to chapter books and novels for older children. Praised for their elegant design and sturdy bindings, these books set a new standard for the definition of a "classic." Among the titles you will find Wee Gillis, a Caldecott Honor Book by the creators of The Story of Ferdinand; Esther Averill's time-honored Jenny and the Cat Club series; The House of Arden by E. Nesbit, one of J.K. Rowling's favorite writers; several titles by the award-winning team of Ingri and Edgar Parin d'Aulaire, including their Book of Norse Myths and Book of Animals; James Thurber's The Thirteen Clocks and The Wonderful O, both with illustrations by Marc Simont; Rhoda Levine's charming birds-eye-view of holiday-time New York City, Arthur; and Otfried Preussler's chapter books The Little Witch and The Little Water-Sprite. Not to be missed are Mio, My Son and Seacrow Island, by Astrid Lindgren, author of the Pippi Longstocking series; Leon Garfield's Shakespeare Stories, a perfect introduction to the bard for young readers; and the forthcoming Donkey-donkey, a tale of self-acceptance by Roger Duvoisin, author of the bestselling children's book Petunia.

In Fall 2015, we introduced a new series: NYRB Kids. The books in the NYRB Kids series are drawn from The New York Review Children's Collection and reissued as stylish paperback editions designed to be especially attractive to young readers. James Thurber's The 13 Clocks and Jean Merrill's The Pushcart War were our first children's paperbacks, and will be followed by Rumer Godden's An Episode of Sparrows and Norman Lindsay's The Magic Pudding, among others.

Works in the WWEnd Database



Authors Published

• James Thurber  • Daniel Pinkwater  • Dino Buzzati