Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Brian Herbert

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: gallyangel

Brian Herbert

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Brian Patrick Herbert
Born: June 29, 1947
Seattle, Washington, USA
Occupation: Insurance, Wrtier
Nationality: American


Brian Herbert is an American author who lives in Washington state. He is the elder son of science fiction author Frank Herbert.

Brian Herbert's novels include Sidney's Comet, Prisoners of Arionn, Man of Two Worlds (written with his father), and Sudanna Sudanna. In 2003, Herbert wrote a biography of his father: Dreamer of Dune: The Biography of Frank Herbert. The younger Herbert has edited The Songs of Muad'dib and the Notebooks of Frank Herbert's Dune. Brian has also created a concordance for the Dune universe based on his father's notes, though, according to the younger Herbert, there are no immediate plans to publish it.

Herbert is known for his collaborations with author Kevin J. Anderson, with whom he has written multiple prequels to his father's landmark 1965 science fiction novel, Dune, all of which have made the New York Times Best Seller list. The duo began with the trilogies Prelude to Dune (1999-2001) and Legends of Dune (2002-2004). Brian and Anderson next published Hunters of Dune (2006) and Sandworms of Dune (2007), two sequels to Frank Herbert's original Dune series which was left incomplete after his 1986 death. These novels are based on an outline and notes left behind by Frank Herbert for what he referred to as Dune 7, his own planned seventh novel in the Dune series. In 2008, Brian and Anderson began publishing Heroes of Dune, a series of four novels which take place between the novels of Frank Herbert's original series.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Caladan Trilogy

 1. (2020)
 2. (2021)
 3. (2022)

 Dune Sequels

 1. (2006)
 2. (2007)

 Dune Universe

 0. (2023)
 0. (2022)
 0. (2017)
 0. (2005)

 Great Schools of Dune

 0. (2016)
 1. (2012)
 2. (2014)
 3. (2016)

 The Hellhole Trilogy

 1. (2011)
 2. (2013)
 3. (2014)

 Heroes of Dune

 1. (2008)
 2. (2009)

 Legends of Dune

 1. (2002)
 2. (2003)
 3. (2004)

 Prelude to Dune

 1. (1999)
 2. (2000)
 3. (2001)

 Sidney Malloy

 1. (1983)
 2. (1985)

 The Stolen Gospels

 1. (2011)
 2. (2011)

 Timeweb Chronicles

 1. (2006)
 2. (2007)
 3. (2008)