Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Parke Godwin

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Rhondak101

Parke Godwin

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Parke Godwin
Born: January 28, 1929
New York City, New York, USA
Died: June 19, 2013
Auburn, California, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Parke Godwin was an American writer. He won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novella in 1982 for his story "The Fire When It Comes." He was a native of New York City, where he was born in 1929. Godwin had also been a radio operator, a research technician, a professional actor, an advertising man, a dishwasher and a maitre d' hotel.

Godwin is known for his novels of legendary figures placed in realistic historical settings, written in a lyrical yet precise prose style and sardonic humor. His retelling of the Arthur legend, Firelord in 1980, Beloved Exile in 1984 and The Last Rainbow in 1985, is set in the 5th century during the collapse of the Roman empire, and his reinterpretation of Robin Hood (Sherwood, 1991, and Robin and the King, 1993) takes place during the Norman conquest and features kings William the Conqueror and William Rufus as major characters. His other well-known works include Waiting for the Galactic Bus (1988) and its sequel: The Snake Oil Wars which is also known as The Snake Oil Variations, in 1989. These were humorous critiques of American pop culture and religion.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 A Cold Blue Light

 1. (1983)


 1. (1980)
 2. (1984)
 3. (1985)

 The Masters of Solitude

 1. (1978)
 2. (1982)

 Snake Oil

 1. (1988)
 2. (1989)