Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Lee Killough

Added By: valashain
Last Updated: valashain

Lee Killough

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Karen Lee Killough
Born: May 5, 1942
Syracuse, Kansas, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Lee Killough has been storytelling since the age of four or five, when she began making up her own bedtime stories. So when she discovered science fiction and mysteries about age eleven, she began writing her own science fiction and mysteries. Because her great fear was running out of these by reading everything her small hometown library had. It took her late husband Pat Killough, though, years later, to convince her to try selling her work. Her first published stories were science fiction and her short story, "Symphony For a Lost Traveler", earned a Hugo Award nomination in 1985.

She used to joke that she wrote SF because she dealt with non-humans every day... spending twenty-seven years as chief technologist in the Radiology Department at Kansas State University's Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital before retiring to write full-time.

Because she loves both SF and mysteries and hated choose between the two genres, her work combines them. Except for one fantasy, The Leopard's Daughter, most of her novels are mysteries with SF or fantasy elements... with a preference for supernatural detectives: vampire, werewolves, even a ghost. She has set her procedurals in the future, on alien words, and in the country of dark fantasy. Her best known detective is vampire cop Garreth Mikaelian, of Blood Hunt, Bloodlinks, and Blood Games. Five of her novels and a novella are now available as e-books and she is editing more to turn into e-books.

Lee makes her home in Manhattan, Kansas, with her book-dealer husband Denny Riordan, a spunky terrier mix, and a house crammed with books.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Blood Hunt

 1. (1987)
 2. (1988)
 3. (2001)

 Brill and Maxwell

 1. (1979)
 2. (1986)
 3. (1990)