Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Kate Bernheimer

Added By: HRO
Last Updated: Rhondak101

Kate Bernheimer

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Kate Bernheimer
Occupation: Writer, Editor
Nationality: American


Kate Bernheimer is an American fairytale writer, scholar and editor.

Kate Bernheimer's first three novels, a trilogy based on Russian, German, and Yiddish fairy tales, "The Complete Tales of Lucy Gold" (2011), The Complete Tales of Merry Gold (2006), and "The Complete Tales of Ketzia Gold" (2001), were published by Fiction Collective 2. Amongst her other work, her short-story collection Horse, Flower, Bird was published in Fall 2010 by Coffee House Press. She edited the World Fantasy Award winning collection of short stories, My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, which was published in Fall 2010 by Penguin Books. She is also the author of The Girl in the Castle Inside the Museum, chosen as a best picture book of the year by Publishers Weekly in 2008. Her most recent book for children is "The Lonely Book," illustrated by Chris Sheban and an "Best Books of the Month" selection for May 2012; it was published in April 2012 by Random House Children's Books.

Bernheimer is founder and editor of the journal Fairy Tale Review, as well as a number of fairy-tale anthologies, including Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (Doubleday, 2002)and Brothers and Beasts (Wayne State University Press, 2007).

Bernheimer was also among a list of contributors to The &NOW Awards 2: The Best Innovative Writing which released in spring of 2013.

She has a BA from Wesleyan University.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works



No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube