Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

A. S. Byatt

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

A. S. Byatt

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Antonia Susan Duffy
Born: August 24, 1936
Sheffield, West Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
Died: November 16, 2023
London, England
Occupation: Novelist, Poet
Nationality: English


A.S. Byatt was a novelist, short-story writer and critic of international renown. Educated at York and Newnham College, Cambridge, she taught at the Central School of Art and Design, and was a Senior Lecturer in English at University College, London (1972-1984), before returning to full time writing. Her novels include Possession (winner of the 1990 Booker Prize), The Children's Book, (shortlisted for the Booker Prize and winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction), and the the Frederica Quartet, comprising The Virgin in the Garden, Still Life, Babel Tower and A Whistling Woman. Her books have been translated into thirty-two different languages. She was awarded the Erasmus Prize in 2016, for her 'inspiring contribution to life writing', and the Pak Kyongni Prize in 2017. In 2018 she received the Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award. A.S. Byatt was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.

Bio curtesy of RCW Literary Agency.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Canongate Myth

 17. (2011)