Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Mark Chadbourn

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: valashain

Mark Chadbourn

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Mark Chadbourn
Born: January 13, 1960
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire, England, UK
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: English


A two-time winner of the prestigious British Fantasy Award, Mark has published his epic, imaginative novels in many countries around the world. He grew up in the mining community of the English Midlands, and was the first person in his family to go to university. After studying Economic History at Leeds, he became a successful journalist, writing for several of the UK's renowned national newspapers as well as contributing to magazines and TV.

When his first short story won Fear magazine's Best New Author award, he was snapped up by an agent and subsequently published his first novel, Underground, a supernatural thriller set in the coalfields of his youth. Quitting journalism to become a full-time author, he has written stories which have transcended genre boundaries, but is perhaps best known in the fantasy field.

Mark has also forged a parallel career as a screenwriter with many hours of produced work for British television. He is a senior writer for BBC Drama, and is also developing new shows for the UK and US.

An expert on British folklore and mythology, he has held several varied and colourful jobs, including independent record company boss, band manager, production line worker, engineer's 'mate', and media consultant.

Having travelled extensively around the world, he has now settled in a rambling house in the middle of a forest not far from where he was born.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Age of Misrule

 1. (1999)
 2. (2000)
 3. (2001)

 The Dark Age

 1. (2002)
 2. (2004)
 3. (2005)


 9. (2009)

 Kingdom of the Serpent

 1. (2006)
 2. (2008)
 3. (2009)

 Swords of Albion

 1. (2009)
 2. (2011)
 3. (2013)

 Telos Doctor Who Novellas

 7. (2003)