Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books


Added By: Administrator
Last Updated:


Purchase this book through Purchase this book from Purchase this book from
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Publisher: Del Rey / Ballantine, 1991
Series: The Russian Stories: Book 3

1. Rusalka
2. Chernevog
3. Yvgenie

Book Type: Novel
Genre: Fantasy
Sub-Genre Tags: Historical Fantasy
Avg Member Rating:
(12 reads / 2 ratings)


Cherryh continues the tale of magic and wizardry gone awry in ancient Russia that began in Rusalka and Chernevog. The protected childhood of young wizard Ilyana, the 15-year-old daughter of adventurer Pyetr Kochevikov and former rusalka (devouring ghost) Eveshka, is brought to an abrupt end when Eveshka discovers that her daughter's erstwhile playmate is none other than the rusalka of Kavi Chernevog, the evil wizard who had loved Eveshka and destroyed her earlier life.

When Chernevog takes over the nearly lifeless body of Yvgenie Pavlovitch, a young man fleeing Kiev and his powerful father's wrath, Ilyana loves both--the childhood playmate and the newcomer in her life. After her parents threaten Chernevog/Yvengie, Ilyana flees with him, pursued by her father and wizard uncle. It soon becomes evident that other, older powers are taking a hand, making the little family a pawn in a game of revenge and magic. Cherryh weaves a complex psychological tale of magic, with wishes that lead to unexpected results and wizards who go into hiding because they fear the consequences of their actions.


No excerpt currently exists for this novel.


There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel.