Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Neil Clarke

Added By: valashain
Last Updated: gallyangel

Neil Clarke

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Neil Clarke
Born: August 17, 1966
Occupation: Writer, Editor


Neil Clarke is a Hugo Award-winning and World Fantasy Award-nominated editor and publisher. He is the owner of Wyrm Publishing and publisher/editor of Clarkesworld Magazine, a digital science fiction and fantasy magazine.

Neil was born in 1966 and grew up with his family in a quiet corner of NJ. He attended Bayley Ellard High School and graduated from Drew University with a degree in Computer Science. After graduation, he went to work in the educational technology field, where he has worked for over twenty years. In 2006, he launched Clarkesworld Magazine and followed it with Wyrm Publishing a year later. In addition, he is currently the ebook designer for Prime Books, Cheeky Frawg and a few magazines.

In 2012, Neil suffered a near-fatal heart attack while attending Readercon in Burlington, MA. The damage sustained in this incident later required that he undergo surgery for the implantation of a defibrillator.

Neil currently resides in New Jersey with his wife and two sons.

Editorial Work
As an editor, Neil has focused on short fiction. Under his leadership, Clarkesworld has been nominated for three Hugo Awards for Best Semiprozine, winning twice. In 2012, Clarkesworld declined nomination, but Neil was nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Editor (Short Form). Clarkesworld has also received three World Fantasy Award nominations. Stories published in Clarkesworld have won or been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Sturgeon, Locus, BSFA, Shirley Jackson, WSFA Small Press and Stoker Awards.

Publishing Work
In addition to his work on Clarkesworld, through Wyrm Publishing, Neil has published books by Gene Wolfe, Charles Stross, Catherynne M. Valente and others. Wyrm also serves as the official publisher of the annual Clarkesworld anthologies.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Best Science Fiction of the Year

 1. (2016)
 2. (2017)
 3. (2018)
 4. (2019)
 5. (2020)
 6. (2022)
 7. (2023)

 Realms (Clarkesworld)

 3. (2013)
 4. (2013)
 5. (2013)
 6. (2014)
 7. (2015)
 8. (2016)
 9. (2018)