A Dance with Dragons

George R. R. Martin
A Dance with Dragons Cover

A Continuation of an Increasingly Sprawling Tale


A Dance With Dragons continues Martin’s impressive saga, focusing on the difficult paths of Jon Snow, Lord Commander of the Night’s Watch, Daenerys Targaryen, Dragon Queen, and Tyrion Lannister, the grief-stricken fugitive. In addition to these three viewpoints, it contains 15 more viewpoint characters, resulting in a somewhat slow and diverging story. The main focus is on the north of Westoros and the Free Cities. Martin picks up the task of describing the geography, cultures, and history of the Free Cities in a prodigious amount of travelogue-like sequences. While A Dance With Dragons sometimes feels a little too sprawling, and a little too much like a transitional book, it still delivers many interesting characters and exciting stories. Furthermore, the supernatural elements are beginning to come more into the forefront as the world creeps closer to the deadly winter. I expect the story to narrow as main characters die in The Winds of Winter, when the great winter finally arrives.

Click Below for the Full Review!